About me – why am I always travelling?

Hi all,

at this point, I guess you are wondering why I travel this much and I have been in these many places.

So, for this post I’m leaving aside the architecture descriptions and I’ll write a bit about me and my life!

Let’s start from the begin.

As you probably read already in the “About me” section I’m based in Milan, BUT I’m not a Milanese. Well, I mean it’s more than 10 years now that I live in here, but I was actually born in the south! I have in fact been living the very first 13 years in Trecase, a small town between Naples, Pompeii and Sorrento.

20160522_001156-01
Partying in Milan (I’m the one dressed in white in the middle)

Indeed, an amazing place full of culture, beauty, amazing views, great trekking experiences, boat excursions and GNAMMY (and fatty) FOOD. But the South of Italy if really full of problems and, although I love Naples and Campania in general, it’s really hard to live there. I’m not going to hide that corruption (there it’s called Camorra and not Mafia) is an enormous issue affecting the society.

Nevertheless, my family and I decided to move to Perugia (in the centre of Italy – let’s say not far from Florence), where spent five years of my life. I was really happy there, living in a medium-size city, being a scout (yes!) and partying Umbria Jazz whenever I could.

scout
Scouting memories

But when at the age of 18, the time I finished high school, I moved once more. And this was the time I moved Milan. Here I could really grow up, trying to find myself and becoming an architect thanks to the Politecnico di Milano. During the five years, I decided to go for the Erasmus and, although as all the architects I wanted to move to Lisbon and learn from the Portuguese architecture school, I was sent to Berlin. I have to say I appreciated the city only after a few months, but once convinced I just felt in love.

I spent there one year (one desperate year trying to learn German), but then I had to move back to Milan again to finish my studies and finally get the degree in Architecture.

I moved back to Berlin once more for the PhD and this time I stayed for one year and a half in order to study the neighbourhood of Prenzlauer Berg (I’ll talk about my PhD thesis in the next posts).

SO, THE ISSUE IS: whenever it’s holiday time (Christmas, Easter, Summer holidays) I always drive to Naples with family, friends and cat to visit the rest of my family and whenever I go there I always stop in Perugia.

perugia
Marco in Perugia

PLUS, my boyfriend Marco – you might have seen him in the picture on my Instagram account – lives between Bologna and Ferrara.

assisi
Here I am in Assisi (thanks to Marco for the pics)

PLUS, my brother lives now in Hamburg and we usually meet there or somewhere else in the world.

Of course, to this list of family members, I have friends living here and there and there’s always a good excuse to visit them and have fun together!

Enjoy,

FA

Un pensiero riguardo “About me – why am I always travelling?

Lascia un commento